Gujarat: Congress sweeps Amul board polls, 2 BJP MLAs lose

Gujarat: Congress sweeps Amul board polls, 2 BJP MLAs lose

The Kaira District Co-operative Milk Producers Union Limited, popularly known as Amul Dairy, is, arguably, one of India’s best known brands.

The cooperative, considered an icon of the White Revolution, held elections to its director board on Saturday.

The results of the elections to 11 director posts were announced on Monday. The Congress swept the elections, winning eight of the 11 seats.

The Indian Express reported, “BJP MLA from Matar, Kesarisinh Solanki, lost to Sanjay Patel, who had contested against him in the 2017 Assembly polls. Congress MLA from Anand, Kanti Sodha Parmar, won with 41 votes while Borsad MLA of Congress party Rajendrasinh Parmar, who is also the vice-chairman of Amul, won the Borsad-Anklav seat. The other winners from the Congress included Sita Parmar in Khambhat, Vipul Patel in Petlad, Ghela Zala in Kathlal, Rajesh Pathak in Balasinor and Gautam Chauhan from Mahemdavad.”

In Anand Block, another BJP MLA, Govind Parmar, lost to Kanti Sodha Parmar.

The Times of India reported a total of 1,046 out of 1,049 representatives of village-level milk societies in Anand, Kheda and Mahisagar districts voted in the elections for 11 directors.

Amul Board chairman Ramsinh Parmar, a BJP member, had been elected unopposed earlier. Ramsinh Parmar was a former Congress member and a seven-time MLA. Ramsinh lost from Thasra constituency in 2017 after switching to the BJP. Ramsinh Parmar has been part of the Amul union since 1978 and has been its chairman since 2002. Interestingly, Rajendrasinh Parmar claimed Ramsinh is still with the Congress.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *