Odisha announces Rs 1 cr cash reward each for medal-winning Odia women hockey players

Bhubaneswar: Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik today announced Rs 1 crore cash reward for each of the four Odisha players – Sunita Lakra, Namita Toppo, Lilima Minz and Deep Grace Ekka who were part of the Indian women’s hockey team that won silver medal at the Asian Games 2018.

As per the revised policy, the coach will get an award equivalent to twenty percent of the reward of the Asian Games medal winners.

Earlier this year, the Odisha government had announced to sponsor the Indian hockey teams (men and women) for the next five years.

Odisha which is hosting the Men’s Hockey World Cup scheduled to begin from November 28, launched the ‘My heart beats for hockey’ campaign on the occasion of National Sports Day on August 29.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *