India wins first-ever Test series in Australia

Sydney: India won their first-ever Test series in Australia with a 2-1 lead after the fourth and final Test in Sydney was abandoned due to rain on Monday.

It is the first time after 71 years when India managed the feat since they began touring Australia in 1947-48. With this, Virat Kohli became the first Indian as well as the first Asian captain to win a Test series in Australia.

India reinforced their status as the world’s number one team and retained the Border-Gavaskar Trophy with a historic 2-1 series win.

India got the series off to the best start by winning the tight opening Test in Adelaide by 31 runs on the fifth day of their first Test win.

Pujara’s century and wicketkeeper Rishabh Pant’s world record-equalling 11 catches helped India in the feat.

Ravindra Jadeja’s good-looking 81 helped India post a total in excess of 600. Similarly, the left-arm Chinaman bowler, playing his first Test in Australia, made an impression with a century in Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *